Top 50 business commentators to follow on Twitter

Interested in economics and business comment? Look no further than these 50 tweeters for a consistent and lively stream of comment and analysis in 140 characters.

by Rebecca Burn-Callander
Last Updated: 21 Oct 2013

MT’s top 50 business commentators, economic pundits and financial wizards on Twitter - in no particular order - are…

1. Robert Peston, business editor for the BBC - @peston

2. The Fleet Street fox - @fleetstreetfox

3. Faisal Islam, Economics Editor at Channel 4 News - @faisalislam

4. Ed Conway, economics editor of Sky News - @edconwaysky

5. The MT team, obviously: @MatthewGwyther, @Sparky000, @MichaelNorthcott, @lizzyandersonuk, @emmadevita, @JHazlehurst and, last but not least, @MT_Editorial

6. Nick Hood, MT blogger and ‘cynical business pundit’ - @NickHood5

7. Katie Prescott, BBC business producer on Radio 4’s Today programme - @kprescott

8. Allister Heath, editor of City A.M. - @AllisterHeath

9. Chris Giles, economics editor at the FT - @ChrisGiles

10. Stephanie Flanders, economics editor for the BBC - @BBCStephanie

11. Stefan Stern, management writer - @stefanstern

12. Chris Blackhurst, editor of the Independent - @c_blackhurst

13. Lord Young, the PM’s adviser on enterprise - @TheLordYoung

14. Sathnam Sanghera, business journalist - @sathnam

15. Milo Yiannopoulos – founder of The Kernel - @nero

16. Zee, CEO of TheNextWeb - @zee

17. Aly Duncan, CBI web editor - @alyduncan

18. James Taylor, business writer, @James_M_T

19. Saul Klein, entrepreneurial powerhouse - @cape

20. Kate Bassett, former editor of Real Business Magazine - @KateBassett

21. Charles Orton-Jones, editor of LondonLovesBusiness - @CharlesOJ

22. Modwenna Rees-Mogg, boss of Angel News - @modwenna

23. Philip Beresford, compiler of the Sunday Times Rich List - @philipberesford

24. Fraser Nelson, editor of The Spectator - @frasernelson

25. Chuka Umunna (you can read our interview with the man himself here), shadow business secretary - @chukaumunna

26. Rhymer Rigby, finance writer - @rhymerrigby

27. Richard Young, business journalist - @richardyoung

28. Peter Curtis, business journalist  - @peter_e_curtis

29. Jason Hesse, business journalist and all-round clever chap - @jasonhesse

30. Evan Davis, Radio 4 Today programme presenter - @EvanHD

31. Robert Loch, man about town - @robertloch

32. Ian Merricks, managing partner at White Horse Capital - @ianmerricks1

33. Matt Thomas, COO of Smarta, @smartamatt

34. Hannah Prevett, business writer - @hannahprevett

35. Jos White, angel investor - @joscwhite

36. Rajeeb Dey, CEO of enternships - @rajdey

37. Pinky Lilani, champion of women in business - @pinkylilani

38. Rosamund Urwin, Evening Standard journalist, @RosamundUrwin

39. David Bain, editorial director at Campden Wealth ‏ @davidbaineditor

40. Linda Yueh Economics Editor & host of Economic Edge for Bloomberg – @lindayueh

41. Guy Rigby, accountant and adviser to the entrepreneurial - @guyrigby

42. Laura Kuenssberg, ITV News business editor - @ITVLauraK

43. Tim Harford, Undercover Economist at the FT - @TimHarford

44. Heather Stewart, business editor of The Observer - @heatherstewart3

45. Rory Cellan-Jones, BBC technology correspondent - @BBCRoryCJ

46. Matthew d’Ancona, business journalist - @MatthewdAncona

47. Anatole Kaletsky, economist and journalist - @kaletsky

48.  Jonathan Portes, director of NIESR - @jdportes

49. Leigh Caldwell, cognitive-behavioural economist - @LeighBlue

50. John Fraher, Bloomberg managing editor for eurocrisis - @johnfraher

Like these? Check out our 50 entrepreneurs to follow on Twitter

Any glaring omissions? Let us know. Leave a comment below.

Find this article useful?

Get more great articles like this in your inbox every lunchtime

Reopening: Your duty is not to the economy, it’s to your staff

Managers are on shaky ground if they think they can decide for people what constitutes...

How COVID changes the world forever: A thought experiment

Silicon Valley ‘oracle’ Tim O’Reilly imagines how different sectors could emerge from the pandemic.

The CEO's guide to switching off

Too much hard work is counterproductive. Here four leaders share how they ease the pressure....

What Lego robots can teach us about motivating teams

People crave meaningful work, yet managers can so easily make it all seem futile.

What went wrong at Debenhams?

There are lessons in the high street store's sorry story.

How to find the right mentor or executive coach

One minute briefing: McDonald’s UK CEO Paul Pomroy.